Office for Nuclear Regulation

Leadership update

21 May, 2021

It was last December when we announced our plans to align our leadership structure to that of other similar regulators by creating a combined post Chief Executive/Chief Nuclear Inspector.

On 1 June 2021, current Chief Nuclear Inspector, Mark Foy, will formally step into this new role and over recent months has been working closely with Adriènne to ensure an effective handover as she prepares to leave us.

Mark will be supported by our Deputy Chief Executive (DCE), Sarah High, and our new Executive Director of Operations (EDO), Donald Urquhart, to ensure stability and maintain business continuity across our operations and regulation.

We’ve also appointed three new Deputy Chief Inspectors (DCIs) to replace Donald Urquhart, following his promotion to EDO, Dr Anthony Hart, who will retire at the end of May, and Dr Mina Golshan, who is leaving ONR to take up a senior role with the Sizewell C project later in the year.

Mike Finnerty, already a DCI, is now heading up our Operating Facilities division, and Jane Bowie, one of our new appointments, has replaced Mike as Director for New Reactors. Paul Dicks will become DCI for our Sellafield, Decommissioning, Fuel and Waste division, and Steve Vinton has been appointed Technical Director. Paul and Steve will take up their new posts on 1 June too.

To further support our new leadership arrangements, we have also appointed Simon Coldham as our Chief Information Officer, while a new Finance Director, will be joining us in July as Sarah High takes on full DCE duties.

The newest members of our Senior Leadership Team are looking forward to engaging with our stakeholders over the coming weeks and months as they take on their new portfolios.